New Jersey Pirate Radio Law
Love this website? Love what we do? Please support REC in 2019!
2013 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 2C - THE NEW JERSEY CODE OF CRIMINAL JUSTICE
Section 2C:33-23.1 - License required for certain radio transmissions.
1.A person shall not:
a.Make, or cause to be made, a radio transmission of energy in this State unless the person obtains a license, or an exemption from licensure, from the Federal Communications Commission pursuant to 47 U.S.C. s.301, or other applicable federal law or regulation; or
b.Do any act to cause an unlicensed radio transmission of energy or interference with a public or commercial radio station licensed by the Federal Communications Commission or to enable the radio transmission of energy or interference to occur.
c.As used in this section, "radio transmission of energy" has the same meaning given that term under 47 U.S.C. s.153.
Citation: NJ Rev Stat § 2C:33-23.1 (2013)
Editor's note: 2C:33-23-2 states that this crime is a Fourth degree crime punishable up to 18 months in jail and/or a fine of up to $10,000.